JMM Goes MIA

No, I’m not lost, or even missing in action. The MIA reference is for the Minnesota Institute of Art, a world-class museum right here in the land of lakes. I had time to find something to amuse me this afternoon, so the GPS got to sit atop the dashboard of the NIssan Versa, and kept telling me to exit right, and then turn right, or a variation of that, and I was buckled up and  behind the wheel and set to follow those directives straight through to. 2400 Third Avenue South which was the home of the MIA as well as my destination

mia_logo-3528

The featured exhibit this time is the Art of Eugene Delacroix,

600full-eugene-delacroix

a French master of Romantic Art, He was 19th Century, which is okay, as we all started somewhere, and none of us were able or competent to decide the when. I am not a fan of Delacroix, and this special exhibit commanded $20 for non-members. So I passed. But the good news is that the rest of the museum was free as in no admission.

I strolled around the museum, had a light lunch at the Agra Café,

agra-culture-hero-1024x512

and before I knew it, I found myself in the section for Asian art. There was a nice collection of the kind of gowns (I guess) that the richest of the Chinese men, who might otherwise be known as land barons, wore in the days of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

logo-head

Around half past two, I headed out and set the GPS for the venue. I had to pick up my Press Badge,

WIN_20151021_17_06_38_Pro

as well as my tickets for tonight’s films. That went off without a hitch. I even got to meet the Managing Director the TCFF – Bill Cooper.

Bill-Cooper-Close-Up-200x300

Fortunately the Icon’s lobby had free Wi-Fi, and so, this piece got started. And as I was wrapping up, Ruth of flixchatter.net arrived

Leave a Reply

