Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

What an ungainly title – here, read it with me: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen. Sounds like nothing you’d ever want to see. First, and personally, I’m not much of a fisherman. I grew up in a coastal town on Long Island, and now live in a coastal town on Florida’s west coast. But the fishing craze never got to me.

Second, and still personal, I’ve never visited Yemen. For the record, I’ve never been to any countries in that area. The closest I’ve been to the Middle East is Venice, Italy.

But I do like Ewan McGregor, Emily Blunt, and Kristin Scott-Thomas. I also like romantic films. So I was more than enthused when I read about this film last month. I even made a point of announcing in my What’s Next/Coming Attraction Section that I would review the film.

Unfortunately, while the film did open today – it got what has commonly been called a ‘limited opening’. That means if you live in or near Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, or Washington D.C.- you can see it. For the rest of us – we get to look at clips and trailers.

Last time I checked – I don’t think that New York is known for being the salmon fishing capital of the world. I’m at a loss as to why Florida – with still hundreds of thousands of snow-birds still wintering here wasn’t considered worthy enough to have the film open in the state.

Hello Lionsgate and BBC Films. In case you haven’t noticed – Sarasota, Florida is a prime winter vacation destination for many, many folks from the UK. Jeez, you can even buy British newspapers in the supermarkets here. So with a cast of folks from the UK in the film – you’d think this area would get some play. That it might even be considered a prime venue for the fim. But it didn’t happen. We’ve been overlooked, by-passed, or written off.

But what do I know about marketing and demographics. I’m just a shopper with a good ear for the Queen’s English as it rolls past me in the supermarket aisles regularly. And I’m just a blogger.

What makes this all the even more depressing is that there’s no problem in sending the trailers around to these parts. So I get to know about the film, see some tantalizing bits of the film – but at the end of the day, today, tomorrow, and for the immediate future, I’ve no chance to see it. Maybe the Burns Court Theater, the local art house, will get it before the month ends.

I mean what could be better than watching an actress who looks like this act in a film written by an Oscar Winning screenwriter – Simon Beaufoy (Slumdog Millionaire), and directed by an Oscar nominated film director – Lasse Hallstrom. Here’s a line from the film you might get a chuckle out of:

Dr. Alfred Jones (Ewan McGregor) : There are two million fishermen in the UK …
Patricia Mawell (Kristin Scott-Thomas) : Two million of them? Waving their little rods around …

Just call me ‘Steamed in Sarasota.’ In the meantime, here’s the film’s Official website. So have fun reading about the film and looking at the clips, trailers, and photos –

http://www.fishingintheyemen.com/#/videos

– or just watch the trailer here.

2 thoughts on “Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

  1. I’m right there with you. I desire to see this and think it awful that it’s only out in select cities, yet they leave enticing tidbits at every available door for those of us who do not have the opportunity to go see it. I’m such a big fan of Ewan’s, though guess, like most everyone else, will have to wait til it hits my part of the world/country (WA state)

  2. Thanks for stopping by. Washington State should have plenty of salmon fishing going on. I guess it doesn’t matter to the folks who hope to sell these films.

    Maybe if enough of us make a bit of noise – things will change. Not counting on it – but it must be said.

    jmm

Comments are closed.