The Nostra Blogathon : Life, Love & The Movies

Blogathon-Logo-Nostra02-s02

Have you seen any of the posts that are a part of Nostra’s Blogathon. The topic is Life, Love & The Movies. Here’s a link to the blogathon’s origin:
http://www.myfilmviews.com/2014/01/20/announcing-llm-blogathon/

I know I am a bit late to the party – but what with Valentine’s Day waiting in the wings, I figured it was not too late to jump in. The format is simple. Nostra has proposed that one answer 8 questions about films and your life, and 8 questions about love and films as they concern you. The questions were not easy, nor was flipping the pages of the film catalog in my head, so I had to do some research. But here we go.

Life

1. What was the first movie you saw in the cinema and what do you remember about that visit?

I’m afraid I can’t remember exactly which film that I saw in any cinema. But I do remember which film I saw that impressed me as well as being impressed by the movie theater itself. That would be the Alfred Hitchcock film North By Northwest which was playing at the Radio City Music Hall in New York. I saw this film with my parents and brother. We lived in Huntington, New York which was out on Long Island and about an hour east of Manhattan. So a family outing into the city to see a movie matinée and have dinner was really a big deal.

2. Are there any movies you have very strong memories of which are not because of the movie (for example something which happened at the time you were watching it)?

Most likely that would be The Wizard of Oz which was generally shown years ago on Thanksgiving – a family dinner wasn’t normally special – but on Thanksgiving Day it was always special.

3. Which movies had a big impact on you and changed a (small) part of your view on life?

That’s easy – I have two – To Kill a Mockingbird. I felt that the integrity of Atticus Finch, portrayed by Gregory Peck was better and more inspiring than any other film character I’d seen before or since.

The other would have to be All The President’s Men. As I lived through that era in American politics, I became quite disillusioned about politics. But to be able to revisit, the short version of that period of history, via this film, is something I treasure to this day.

There were films that offered not so much of a view on life – but rather – a feeling that movies would be the entertainment form that I valued most. One was Lawrence of Arabia for the epic spectacle,

the second was Dr. Zhivago for the epic love story,

and the third was Chinatown because it was a look at life’s dark side.

4. Do you have any comfort movies which you return to because you are in a specific mood (for example if you are feeling down/nursing a heartbreak)?

If nothing else of value is going on, and a film comes on TV that I would watch any time it is being shown because it has not only entertainment value, but it serves as a grand bit of escapism, I have three –

A Few Good Men

The Bourne Identity or any of the others with Matt Damon as Bourne –

shawshank_redemption_ver2

The Shawshank Redemption

5. If a movie would be made about your life, what type of movie would it be and who would you like to portray you?

Great question. Of the actors no longer with us – I would have chosen Henry Fonda or Gregory Peck or James Stewart.

http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi2902000409/

Beyond those three – I’d go for Dustin Hoffman who would be more than a tad short to play me. Anyway I guess it would be a story with a ‘hopeful sign’. See the clip above.

6. Which existing movie best represents you? Not really – but I do love baseball.

Tough question – I think I’d select Field of Dreams.

7. If you knew you would die tomorrow, what would be the last movie you would want to see?

For the sheer excitement, and the fun of watching the non-stop edge of your seat thrills, it would have to be Raiders of the Lost Ark.

Or to watch a film that exemplifies the traits of bravery, heroism and courage – it would be The Bridge On the River Kwai.

8. If you can spend your life working in the film industry, what would you be and why? (you know, director, producer, actor, cinematographer, costume designer, sound designer etc?)

At one time I would have selected screenwriter. I actually did co-author a film, but it went nowhere as in not sold. So these days, without having to over-think the question – it would be cinematographer.

blogathon-logo-nostra02

Love

1. Did you ever have a first kiss with someone while at the cinema and if so which movie was playing?

I think it was The Deer Hunter. It was just a kiss, not quite like making out at Schindler’s List.

2. What is your favorite movie relationship and why?

Woody Allen and Diane Keaton in Annie Hall – because they struggled so hard, because they were such unusual but not unfamiliar types, and because they were fun.

3. When did your love for movies start and how has it grown?

Probably as a kid. Of course it has grown as these days I spend a good amount of time writing about films. I think, while in high school, I wanted to be a sports writer, but I never pursued that. I didn’t pursue films either, yet today, I blog about films.

4. If you have to choose one film to watch with your loved one, what would it be and why?

Well it would have to be Dr. Zhivago which was a love story across time, history, wars, and great distances. And the way it ended – with Yuri dying while trying to reach Lara – was for me unforgettable. Of course there was the stunning imagery and the marvelous musical score along with the unforgettable story.

5. If you can choose one character from a movie to be your significant other who would it be and why?

Julia Roberts not because she is the world most beautiful woman because she’s not.  but certainly we can say that she was so very appealing, and finally – at the end of each of these movies, the boy got the girl of his dreams. I do like happy endings. Julia in any of these films qualifies :

Notting Hill

The Runaway Bride

Pretty Woman

6. What was the first movie that made you fall in love with film and cinema?

As stated above – North by Northwest.

7. How did your passion for movies turn you into a movie blogger?

If you have a need to write, which is a kind of communication, and you want people to read your words, you need something that many people do and would take the time to read about. But it goes beyond that = you have to be passionate about it yourself, and willing to put ideas out there in public. I think movies were a natural fit for me. Only when I was young, I pursued a career in a different field. When that became more of a job than something to be passionate about – I started to blog.

8. What is your favorite date from a movie?

There are two:

The Mike Mills film Beginners – when Ewan McGregor and Melanie Laurent begin dating.

Elise (Emily Blunt) : Were you just staring at my legs? David (Matt Damon): I was defenseless against the dress...

Elise (Emily Blunt) : Were you just staring at my legs?
David (Matt Damon): I was defenseless against the dress…

Matt Damon and Emily Blunt in The Adjustment Bureau – when they met on the bus.

Wow. That was fun. If you enjoyed this, then head over to Nostra’s blog, the link is near the top of this post, get the particulars,  and join in.

2 thoughts on “The Nostra Blogathon : Life, Love & The Movies

  1. Great Q&A. Not only are the questions thought provoking, your answers are direct and revealing (a romantic, hopeful movie that stars Julia Roberts and Gregory Peck, written by Woody Allen). No westerns, and surprise, not one with film with subtitles.

    The best thing is everyone’s answers will be totally unique. And everyone’s responses will morph as time goes by.

Leave a comment